What Makes You Happy

It’s easy to write a blog post about those things that make me unhappy…and Lord knows I have written a lot of those lately.  But what about those things that make me happy?  I know it shouldn’t be that hard so why don’t I write more about them?  Tonight I plan to do just that.

Sometimes when I am in the abyss it’s hard to think of anything that would make me really HAPPY.  I mean what IS happiness anyway?  But the reality is I know what happiness is.  Happiness is beig with my son even when he’s rambing away for the gabillionth time about exacting revenge on the unsuspecting victim of the day as his alter ego, the Oera Ghost.  Happiness is looking at my two freaky dogs when they are sleeping and wanting to hug and kiss them.  Happiness is listening t o “I’m Just a Gigilo” at the end of my walk when I am on my way home.  Happiness is hugging Scott when he comes home from work.

See?  That’s not so hard.

Happiness is knowing Shabbat is right around the corner.  Happiness is being an Israeli citizen and aving had the greatest experience in my life of living in Jerusalem with my son.  Happiness is having a warm home and a soft bed and heat and air conditioning and a mixer to make cookies with.  Happiness is having running water.  Really.

Happiness is having a best friend who listens when the going gets rough and who isn’t afraid to say, hey, listen to ME when I get lost in myself.  Happiness is being safe.  Happiness is being loved.

There are so many things to be happy about.  Probably way more than there are to be sad or angry about but sometimes it seems that the bad things seem so enormous and overwhelming.  At least to me they can be consuming.

I hope that when I am down or sad or overwhelmed I’l remember to come back to this post or even just to my private journal and be happy in the moment because there are so many happys to put the bads in their place.

2 thoughts on “What Makes You Happy

  1. Very good and what you had to say is the truth sometimes people wont say it but its true. For me , i have to step back sometimes and just really look at my life and then look at others and i should never complain.. I have a husband, my three children, three step children and 8 grandchildren and another on the way ( i have a baseball team now lol). I live back in the house i grew up in and my mother lives with me now. she will be 74 in feb. . her health is okay, my oldest son is getting better he did get the gastric bypass.so from almost 5 years he weighed over 600lbs and now after gb he is down to 340 he still has his tracheostomy tube but he is doing much better and he might get that out in may…i have tried to keep up with your blogs you have had a very different life that anyone here could even think about but it sounds like you are getting better all the time take care and i will watch for more to read….debbie

    Like

Leave a Reply

